Skip to content

Prezi, My New Found Love

November 29, 2011

Today I discovered Prezi and I think it is going to change my life!  That’s a little over dramatic, but I’m really excited about it.  I give presentations fairly often in my job and volunteer actives.  Earlier this year I switched from Power Point to Keynotes and I thought that was the end all be all.  Don’t get me wrong I love Keynotes and how clean and intuitive it is (like all Apple products) but the concept of Prezi just really makes sense to me.

I’ll let Prezi explain exactly what it is:

 

If you don’t exactly get it from the video watch a few presentations on their web page, it will start to make sense. It is a very creative, non-linear way to organize your presentations. I’m really excited to give it a try. I started working on a small presentation for next week, but it probably won’t be until the New Year that I get to try it out for a large audience.

This is only my first day playing around with it, but here are some of the pros and cons I’ve found.

Pros:
Easy to Use
Makes you look like a great designer
Wonderful transitions
Makes you keep things simple (I hate wordy Power Points, yawn)

Cons:
No built in spell check (we know I need that)
No photo editing ability. You have to do all of that in Photoshop before you import that photo.

Have you used Prezi, what are your thoughts?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry mattison permalink
    November 30, 2011 6:09 am

    Sounds like a great tool for Apples products.

Leave a Reply

