Skip to content

Is Social Media Driving Your Family Apart?

December 1, 2010

This a great parody that I found on Mashable.com.  Obviously it is funny and a bit over the top, but it does have a point.  There are a lot of studies showing that Social Media brings people together.  It is great for connecting with friends from the past or making new business contacts.  But how does it effect your relationships with those closest to you?

I am a social media junkie.  Dan, on the other hand, is not.  A typical conversation that we’ve had in the past has been:

Terry: “bla bla bla bla bla something about a cake I recently made.”

Dan: “I didn’t know about that.”

Terry: “WHY NOT, I WROTE A WHOLE BLOG POST ABOUT IT?  Don’t you read my blog?”

Dan: “uuuummmmm, I live with you?”

Terry: (evil eye)

Dan: “I’ll go read it now.”

This was all before Dan was more active in the cake making, but really you can insert any social media outlet in place of “blog post.”  I am pretty much always connected and he is… well… not.  It is a difference in our personalities that we have learned to live with.

But I want to hear from you.  Are you a social media junkie?  How does your family deal with it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

